top of page
Search

50th Story! - Camilo


I didn't know how I'd feel about Camilo at first, but he is so precious and special and I now love him~ His character is interesting, with his strong work ethic and serious take on his responsibility, and I think his story is quite interesting. It's not another of those stories that's all about romancing the princess; there's some good substance to it. And actually it's really good down both routes. Guess I need two copies now so I can do both! I think SUN has a little more going on in the story, but I liked the endings for both routes.


The first minor comment I have about his translation is I know that the chapter titles for Chapter 8 of both routes is the same, just one has a ... at the end. That's because in Japanese SUN Route uses 大聖堂で。。。 and MOON Route uses 大聖堂にて. The で and にて are different in Japanese, but when translated into English they both indicate the same thing, that being a location where something is happening. So I translated them the same way. I hope that doesn't confuse anyone.


The MAJOR comment I have about translating him, and I can't stress how much I flipped in fangirl-y excitement when I read this, is a line from the MOON Route final chapter. (Spoilers, sorry)


Camilo:「手折りたくなる。。。」


In this section of the story, Camilo is comparing our main character to a flower. Saying she smells nice and feels soft like a flower petal. Sweet right? Then he goes and drops THIS line. 手折 means 'to pick a flower'. He is saying "I want to pick you" like a flower. But not like in an 'I choose you' kind of way. Because 手折 ALSO means to make a young woman one's own. And if we want to look at Shakespeare, he really liked using the 'picking/plucking a flower' metaphor for *cough* deflowering a woman. So Camilo basically snuck this smooth af line in there to tell our princess exactly what he wants to do to her. Camilo you sly dog.



134 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I've Moved!!!

Yes, I have moved all translations to my new website: https://hanxanthtranslations.com/ Wix was getting a bit...unwieldy, and I was due for a reformat anyway. This site here will remain live, however

bottom of page