top of page
Search

Story - Byakuyo


Alrighty, next story prince is ready to go! I enjoyed doing Byakuyo, and I tend to not like the feminine guys as much. But Byakuyo was fun to read and translate, and I think everyone could use a Byakuyo in their lives. But before you start reading, here's a note on Byakuyo's story.


If you read Byakuyo's description, the Japanese literally says he's the 'older sister type' of prince. This means his way of speaking is very feminine (as is the way he acts, dresses, and everything else). I tried my best to make that come across in the English, but it takes a little more word play than the Japanese. In Japanese, it's easy to hear his feminine voice because he always refers to himself as あたし (atashi) which is the most feminine way to to speak about oneself. Even more feminine than our main character! 私 (watashi) is the typical Japanese we see in the main character's lines when she refers to herself. While watashi does have a feminine tone, it can also be used as gender neutral in some situations. Men, especially around the ages of the princes we see in the game, tend to refer to themselves as 俺 (ore) or 僕 (boku). But atashi is reserved only for women. This makes Byakuyo's speech immediately very different.


He also has a tendency to end his sentences with わ (wa). This way of speaking is also highly feminine. Many people, both men and women, may end their sentences with よ (yo) which has a purpose and adds emphasis to what the speaker is saying. However わ doesn't really do anything at the end of the sentence other than add a feminine flavor. So again we have a very clear indicator of his feminine speech, but of course it's one that doesn't translate into English at all. Still, I hope I got his femininity across in the translation!

92 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I've Moved!!!

Yes, I have moved all translations to my new website: https://hanxanthtranslations.com/ Wix was getting a bit...unwieldy, and I was due for a reformat anyway. This site here will remain live, however

bottom of page