top of page
Search

Story - Lid

Updated: Mar 2, 2019


So although I have other 4-5 star princes having been requested, I wanted to get another translation out sooner so I decided to do Lid, a 3-star and thus shorter translation, plus he's the third of the popular trio of Jewel Princes along with Sai and Tiga.


Lid speaks VERY casually. He's not as masculine as Sky, but he still speaks casual. For example, he calls his older brother 兄貴 (aniki). Granted, the fact that this is written in kanji shows at least some respect for his older brother, however there is no other suffix or indicator of respect, which is why I chose to translate this as 'Bro' most of the time. Were Lid to be showing typical proper respect for his older brother, he'd more likely call him お兄さん (oniisan) or 兄さん (niisan), or those but switch out the -san suffix for the -sama suffix. And as a side note, if 兄貴 were written アニキ, we'd have more of a gangster/yakuza feel, even though it's pronounced the exact same way. There was only a couple sentences of Lid's that gave me trouble, so I had to ask for some help, but other than that his translation wasn't too hard.


Speaking of Lid's brother, his name in Japanese is written カラン (karan). I did some research for possible translations of the name, and the best thing I could come up with was Callan, which is a Gaelic first name. A couple other possible readings of it are Calin and Karan, but Callan seemed to fit best in my opinion. Plus Callan means 'powerful in battle' which I thought was cool and kind of fit with Lid's image of his older brother.

72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I've Moved!!!

Yes, I have moved all translations to my new website: https://hanxanthtranslations.com/ Wix was getting a bit...unwieldy, and I was due for a reformat anyway. This site here will remain live, however

bottom of page