top of page
Search

Story - Ster


Finally! After a long wait, I'm back on track with princely story translations. Here to kick things back off is Ster. Ster was an interesting read, and an interesting translation. I didn't run into too many consistent problems, except with the word 星. You wouldn't think this would be a problematic word right? If you don't know it, it reads hoshi and translates as 'star'. But the problem is that this word gets used a LOT in Ster's story. There are stars twinkling in the sky, they ride on stars, they wish on stars, and they travel to stars via...stars. The fact that Ster would travel on shooting stars to get to OTHER stars while there were still stars way out up in the sky, plus the stars for wishing, seemed a little odd. That's too many different stars. So there are times when 星 was used, but I opted to translate it as 'planet' rather than 'star'. It just makes more sense that they travel between little planets on shooting stars, at least to me. And 星 CAN be translated as 'planet', or used to mean pretty much any other entity in the sky aside from Earth or the named planets in our solar system, as those all have specific kanji. So I had to make sure 'planet' and 'star' were used appropriately in the translation. And, random observation, I guess Ster's kingdom is...space? Like, how can there be little planets and stuff everywhere that they can visit? I had theories on the Moon Road and how some countries are connected while some aren't, and that maybe each 'country' is actually its own little entity in space like a planet, but Ster's reality just... kinda messes with my whole sense of how this works. Once again, and I've said this before, I feel like I'm putting more thought into the logistics and settings of this game than GCrest did. Oh well. Side note: My husband is now a converted Ster fan XD

128 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I've Moved!!!

Yes, I have moved all translations to my new website: https://hanxanthtranslations.com/ Wix was getting a bit...unwieldy, and I was due for a reformat anyway. This site here will remain live, however

bottom of page