top of page
Search

Story - Will


Apologies for that delay, but here's Will! Will's brother Tell was actually one of the first princes I got from the gacha, but I always felt Will would be more interesting (I personally love his fashion style). As I still haven't read Tell's story, I can't say for sure, but Will certainly was a ride.


It took a little longer to work on Will in part because of some of the jargon that gets used in his story. I'm not exactly well-versed in Japanese related to film production, so I had to spend a little more time with a dictionary and on interpretation. For example, a lot of the people working with Will on his film are called スタッフ which is literally 'staff'. This makes sense in English just as it is, but I thought it would sound better as 'crewmember' because that's what I hear more often associated with people that work on film; they're part of a crew. So I had some stylistic choices to make.


One other exchange I wanted to point out is in Chapter 3. I'll give you the Japanese too.


ウィル「よし、なるほど。また恐怖に対する反応の引き出しが増えたな、これは次の新作に生かそう。驚かせて悪かったね、OO.」

Will: "Right, there we go. And with that I think I'm even more knowledgeable about people's reactions to fear. I'll put this to good use in my next production. Sorry for scaring you OO."


OO「今、私の名前……」

OO: "You just said my name…"


The reason I'm pointing this out is because it seems kind of odd for our main character to just say 'You just said my name...' Yes, yes he did. Normally you don't need to point that out. But in this case, Will is using the main character's name without any suffix in Japanese, which is highly unusual and speaks of a closeness between the two. The main character and Will haven't known each other long, so it would naturally come as a shock for her to hear her name spoken so casually. I imagine Will did it for the shock value honestly. But that's one of those things that's hard to translate into English, so I thought it needed a little explanation.


I also wanted to mention Will's kingdom, Kenal. I'm not entirely sure if that's the right way to write it out in English, and I'm not sure of the meaning behind the name, that it comes from 'locational'. That's what the Japanese community has guessed though. My initial thought was that it came from the word 'carnal' as that kind of seems to fit Will and what he does, but the kingdom is run by both Will and his brother Tell, so I don't think they'd use a word that applies to one brother and not the other.

101 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I've Moved!!!

Yes, I have moved all translations to my new website: https://hanxanthtranslations.com/ Wix was getting a bit...unwieldy, and I was due for a reformat anyway. This site here will remain live, however

bottom of page